Congratulations Class of 2024!

June 3, 2024

On Monday, May 20, the Yale Chemistry community joined family and friends to celebrate graduating students. After the formal Commencement ceremony at Old Campus, the Ph.D. graduates received their diplomas at the diploma ceremony at Woolsey Hall while baccalaureate graduates received their diplomas at their respective residential halls.

Of the degrees awarded, 21 received the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), three the Master of Science (M.S.), and 16 the Bachelor of Science (B.S.).

Congratulations to our graduates!

Ph.D. Graduates

Daniel Brandes
Emily Branham
Matt Capobianco
Claire Cody
Leah Connor
Diondra Dilworth
Natavan Dudkina
Madeline Frischling
Nathaniel Greenwood
Julian Grundler
Reagan Hooper
Rebecca Howell
Josephine Jayworth
Harvey (Ray) Kelly
Fang Lin
Hanyu Liu
Ningyi Lyu
Michelle Moon
Benjamin Rousseau
Tayah Turocy
Adam Zoll

View the Ph.D. diploma ceremony here.

B.S. Graduates

Spencer Adler
Alexis Ball
Quentin Bertrand
Nicholas Cerny
Albert Gang
Melody Gebremedhin
Madison Houck
Deniz Ince
Lea Kim
Ethan Liu
Avery Long
Leo Mateus
Matt McNierney
Sheikh Nahiyan
Carmelita Ro-Mendez
Libby Snowden

Graduating Student Prize Recipients

Arthur Fleischer Prizes

To undergraduates for their for outstanding performance in chemistry.

Nicholas Cerny, Sheikh Nahiyan, and Deniz Ince

Charles A. Schmuttenmaer Prize

To one graduating Ph.D. student in Chemistry who excels academically and displays outstanding departmental citizenship.

Josie Jayworth

Fleischer Fellows

Awarded to exceptional graduating seniors to fund their summer research.

Tashroom Ahsan, Isa Tran, and Natsume Wu 

Howard Douglass Moore 33S Prize

Awarded to a student for excellence in the field of chemistry.

Madison Houck 

Richard Wolfgang Prize

Awarded to chemistry graduate students with a record of outstanding academic work.  

Nathaniel Greenwood 

Graduate Student Awards T.F. Cooke Awards

Erica Bocanegra
Ryan Donnelly
Teddy Gerard
Christine Quist
Katie Rinaolo
Matthew Tremblay
Rinco Wang
Zhijie Steve Wang

Prize Teaching Fellows

Alexa Williams and Grayson Hoy

Werner Bergmann Prize 

Awarded to the outstanding senior in the Chemistry Department.

Albert Gang